News | DrumhellerMail - Page #3457
Last updateFri, 24 May 2024 12pm

Just what neighbours do...

tractor.jpgWhen Morrin area farmer Terry “Ole”  Martin was laid up in the hospital, his neighbours pitched in to help get his crops off this fall. “It’s what neighbours are for,” said Krystal Sharpe, “I had tears in my eyes seeing them out there.” Working on Martin's southern land are combine drivers: Ryan Bitz, Len Sharpe, Rick Sharpe,  Bob Chambers, Art Grenville and Chris Chambers. Truck drivers included Don Bitz, Jeff Sharpe and Mark Chambers. Bin operators  were Les Olsen, Daryl DeMille and Dallas DeMille. The Chief Foreman of operations was, of course, Martin. Watching the combines, bottom right, is  Katrina Sharpe.

Two in running in Carbon by-election

Carbon residents will have two choices to make come October 14; to choose a Member of Parliament, and a new town councillor.
     A vacated seat on Carbon Village Council will be filled on the same day as the federal election. Shaun Henry, who has moved out of the village, vacated the seat. So far two candidates have lined up to be counted. They are (alphabetically) Heather Boyd and Brian McHugh.

Rosebud Theatre nominated for national tourism award

Tourism Industry Association of Canada nominates
Rosebud Theatre as one of three finalists for the Air Canada Business of the Year Award

    The Canadian tourism industry has included Rosebud Theatre among its finalists for the Air Canada Business of the Year Award.
    Created by the Tourism Industry Association of Canada (TIAC) and presented by The Globe and Mail, the National Awards for Tourism Excellence recognize the best of the industry’s products, services and individuals. The awards are presented to companies and individuals in thirteen categories each year during a gala dinner at Canada’s Tourism Leadership Summit, which this year will be held at the Hilton Lac-Leamy in Gatineau, Quebec. 


The Drumheller Mail encourages commenting on our stories but due to our harassment policy we must remove any comments that are offensive, or don’t meet the guidelines of our commenting policy.