MLA Nathan Cooper elected Speaker of the Legislature | DrumhellerMail
Last updateSat, 21 Sep 2019 3pm

MLA Nathan Cooper elected Speaker of the Legislature

46955043095 a4b7933d1a o1

The Honourable Nathan Cooper was elected May 21, 2019, by his fellow MLAs to serve as the 14th Speaker of the Legislative Assembly of Alberta.

Speaker Cooper was first elected as a Member of the Legislative Assembly of Alberta on May 5, 2015 and again on April 16, 2019 representing the constituency of Olds-Didsbury-Three Hills. He has served on several committees of the Legislative Assembly since he was first elected. He is an active community member and is also the proud father of three.

“Elected by the Members of the Assembly, the Speaker has a unique role maintaining order during the debates in the Chamber and ensuring that the rules set out in the Standing Orders are followed,” said Merwan Saher, Clerk of the Legislative Assembly of Alberta. “The Speaker also serves an administrative role as the head of the Legislative Assembly Office.”

“I am certain that Speaker Cooper, will excel in ensuring the Members of the Assembly have the tools and resources needed to fulfil their roles as elected representatives of the people of Alberta,” said Saher. “He brings a strong procedural knowledge to this prestigious role.”

Also elected to serve as presiding officers in the Assembly were Angela Pitt as Deputy Speaker and Chair of Committees and Nicholas Milliken as Deputy Chair of Committees.

Mrs. Pitt is also serving her second term as an MLA representing Airdrie-East. She was previously a small business owner in Airdrie and an active volunteer in her community where she and her family reside.

Mr. Milliken, also an active community member and family man, was elected to his first term April 16, 2019 as the representative for Calgary-Currie.

The Drumheller Mail encourages commenting on our stories but due to our harassment policy we must remove any comments that are offensive, or don’t meet the guidelines of our commenting policy.

Ask The Experts

Have you decided who you are voting for in the federal election?