Aquadinnies finish season swimming strong | DrumhellerMail
Last updateFri, 17 May 2024 12pm

Aquadinnies finish season swimming strong

aquadinnies-awarded.jpgThe Drumheller Aquadinnies celebrated their many achievements from the 2008-2009 season at an awards ceremony April 6. “We had a very successful season,” said head coach, Brenda Davies. “Six of our swimmers made it to Age Group Trials, five of our swimmers made it to provincials, and one of our swimmers made it to Seniors Provincials. Every year our number of qualifiers keeps going up. It’s great to see the kids achieve so much when they work so hard in the pool.” Fifteen year old Maddie Davies competed in Seniors Provincials in Medicine Hat in February. She had two improved times at that meet and finished the season with four “B” times.
Age group trials qualifiers, held in Sherwood Park, February 20-22, included Emma Lovsin, Parker Knibb, Alan Lister, Victoria Lovsin, Sophia McDonald and Zachary Thomson. Emma swam an “A” time at that meet in the 100 metre breast and qualified to attend Provincials in Calgary March 20-22. The five members of the swim team who attended Provincials were Emma, Brooklyn Davies, Parker Davies, Austin Knibb and Abby Lovsin. Emma finished the season with one “A” time, Brooklyn finished the season with nine “A” times, Parker finished the season with nine “A” times, Austin finished the season with one “A” time, and Abby finished the season with two “A” times. Parker Knibb achieved an “A” time early in the season, but aged up before. Throughout the season, Brooklyn swam 8 club records, Emma swam one club record, Parker Davies swam 12 club records, Austin swam 6 club records and Maddie swam 2 club records. The Sportsman of the Year award was given to Parker Knibb and Nicolette Thomson. The Dilleen Hempel Memorial Award was given to Marina Bouchie. The Rookie of the Year was won by Emily Fletcher. Austin Knibb was the only swimmer fast enough to have his name engraved on the Under .30 trophy. He swam the 50 Free in 28.96. Maddie Davies and Arianna McDonald were named the Aquadinnies Team Leaders, while Isabella McDonald was the winner of the Most Time Off. Parker Davies won the Points Trophy. Star trophies are given out each year to the swimmer who had the most improved times in his/her age group. This year’s winners were as follows: Girls 8 and Under - Anna Gullacher and Aja Kennedy. Girls 10 and Under - Brooklyn Davies Boys 10 and Under - David Gullacher Girls 11 and 12 - Sophia McDonald Boys 11 and 12 - Parker Davies Girls 13 and 14 - Abby Lovsin Boys 13 and 14 - Austin Knibb  Girls 15 and Over - Maddie Davies Aggregate Star Winner - Parker Knibb Most Improved went to Hayven Tucker. The swim season is over now until September, 2009. “We are looking forward to the new season - watching what the seasoned swimmers can do and keeping an eye out for any up-and-comers in the sport of swimming,” said Davies. The Aquadinnies are also coached by Eileen Woods, Samantha Thomson, and Sheila Martin.

The Drumheller Mail encourages commenting on our stories but due to our harassment policy we must remove any comments that are offensive, or don’t meet the guidelines of our commenting policy.