News | DrumhellerMail - Page #2911
Last updateThu, 22 Feb 2024 3pm

Legacy Fund continues tradition of saurian sized donations

    Three World’s Largest Dinosaur Legacy Fund awards were given out on Monday, October 24 to organizations in the area.
    The President of the DDCC, Barry Fullerton, presented Lorie Penner, Regional Coordinator of Junior Achievement, and Linde Turner and Mellissa D’Onofrio-Jones, outgoing and incoming Directors of the Library with cheques for $2600 and $1150 respectively.
    The Rowley Community Hall Association also was awarded $2250.
    Junior Achievement will be using the money to help fund programs offered to students in Drumheller.
    These awards mark the first time any of these three organizations have been recipients of the Legacy Fund.
    Since the opening of the World’s Largest Dinosaur in 2005, donations have been awarded by the Drumheller and District Chamber of Commerce (DDCC) to local organizations. A portion of the revenues generated by the World’s Largest Dinosaur is put aside for the Legacy Fund.
    There were twelve applicants for the awards this time. “We like to spread the money around the community as much as possible,” said Fullerton.
    The Legacy Fund will be awarded again in March 2012.

Trick or treat in downtown

    The witching hour is near for youngsters, and again this year they can head downtown for the annual Trick or Treat.
    This is the eighth year the merchants of downtown Drumheller have hosted the event. It is a safe time for youngsters to have some fun and load up on sweets.
    Roxanne Clarke of the Drumheller and District Chamber of Commerce said once again they are seeing great participation from merchants and this year they are invited to get in the spirit by ”spooking up” their business.    
    There will be a people’s choice poll and the winner will be featured in The Drumheller Mail. Anyone can vote for their favourite  at ReMax, Chinook Credit Union, Merle Norman, DARTS, Fine Photography or Riverside Value Drug Mart.
    The Downtown Trick or Treat goes on Halloween from 4 p.m. to 6 p.m.  Even before the tiny ghosts and ghouls come out, they can participate in the ReMax Pumpkin Carving Contest. There are categories for youngsters under 6, ages 10-15 and 16 and over. Bring your entries to ReMax between 3 and 3:30 p.m. on Halloween. Judging is at 3:45 p.m.
    The downtown event wraps up by 6 p.m., giving youngsters ample time to do a little trick or treating around home.

Councillors receive new appointments at organizational meeting

    After a year on the job, Drumheller Town Councillors have realigned themselves to new board appointments.
    Council held its annual organizational meeting on Monday, October 24. This is where the portfolios of councillors are assigned, and there were a few changes.
    This year, Mayor Terry Yemen has been appointed to the Drumheller and District Chamber of Commerce, the Disaster Service Committee, the Community Standards Appeal Committee, the Economic Development Task Force, the Red Deer River Municipal Users Group, the Kneehill Regional Water Services Commission and the Badlands Community Facility Steering Committee.
    Doug Stanford has been appointed to the Airport Commission, the Municipal Planning Commission, the Community Advisory Commission for the RCMP, the Police Committee, Badlands Ambulance, the Disaster Service Committee and Crime Stoppers.
    Andrew Berdahl has been appointed to the Municipal Planning Commission, the Drumheller Public Library Board, the Disaster Service Committee, the Revitalization Corporation, the Drumheller and District Humane Society and the Badlands Community Facility Steering Committee.
    Sharel Shoff has been appointed to Palliser Regional Municipal Service, Community Futures, Communities in Bloom, the Assessment Review Board and the Economic Development Task Force.
    Jay Garbutt is on the Drumheller and District Solid Waste Management Association, the Drumheller Housing Administration, the Subdivision and Development Appeal Board, the Community Standards Appeal Committee, the Taxi Commission and the Badlands Community Facility Steering Committee.
    Tom Zariski will sit on the Valley Bus Society, the Drumheller and District Seniors Foundation, the Heritage Steering Committee and the Badlands Community Facility Design Committee.
    Lisa Hansen-Zacharuk will sit on the Drumheller Agriculture and Stampede Board, the Sub-division Appeal Board, Communities in Bloom, the Community Standards Appeal Board, the Assessment Review Board, the Revitalization Corporation and the Taxi Commission.


The Drumheller Mail encourages commenting on our stories but due to our harassment policy we must remove any comments that are offensive, or don’t meet the guidelines of our commenting policy.