Mayor’s Trophy winner | DrumhellerMail
Last updateFri, 14 Jun 2024 6pm

Mayor’s Trophy winner


Blaine Zacharuk, right, has won the 2009 Mayor’s Trophy Award, presented by Mayor Bryce Nimmo, which is awarded annually to the fire department member having the best overall percentage attendance  at fire calls, practices and meetings. The trophy has been presented since 1982 and was first initiated by the late Mayor Bill Doucette. Mr. Zacharuk  has been with the department since 1973.


Two new firefighters have joined the Drumheller Volunteer Fire Department, and one departs after 30 years. (above) New firefighters Chris Knight, left, and Dan Isley, right, are welcomed to the department by Fire Chief Bill Bachynski. The two have met the requirements of the department and now hold permanent status. (below) Richard Christensen, left, has retired from the department after 30 years service, and received a department mug from Chief Bachynski, plus the well wishes of his fellow firefighters.



The Drumheller Mail encourages commenting on our stories but due to our harassment policy we must remove any comments that are offensive, or don’t meet the guidelines of our commenting policy.