Six candidates step up for Carbon by-election | DrumhellerMail
Last updateMon, 15 Apr 2024 1am

Six candidates step up for Carbon by-election

Carbon village logo final

Residents of the Village of Carbon will soon be heading to the polls and have a wide slate of candidates to choose from.
A by-election has been scheduled for the Village of Carbon to fill three seats left vacant following the resignations of Councillors Brian McHugh, Renee O’Brien and Mayor Bryan Peever.
Since the resignations, the Village has not been able to establish quorum. In a letter from the Honourable Ric McIver, Minister of Municipal Affairs, Mr. Douglas Henderson has been appointed official administrator to assume council duties.
Nomination day was Thursday, August 24 and six residents have put their names forward in the by-election. They are (in alphabetical order) Sheri Cooper, Travis Cormier, Rosalie Jimmo, Marie Kooiman, Stacey McKenna and Christine Walsh.
The by-election is slated for Thursday, September 21, from 10 a.m. to 8 p.m. at the Carbon Community Centre. To be eligible to vote you must be 18 years of age, a Canadian Citizen and must reside within the Village of Carbon.
Administrator, Mr. Henderson has been appointed until October 13 to administer the business of the village, or until quorum has been restored.

The Drumheller Mail encourages commenting on our stories but due to our harassment policy we must remove any comments that are offensive, or don’t meet the guidelines of our commenting policy.