Council Notes from Regular Council Meeting Monday, December 21, 2020 | DrumhellerMail
Last updateThu, 21 Jan 2021 5pm

Council Notes from Regular Council Meeting Monday, December 21, 2020


Council Overview
Information from Drumheller Regular Council Meeting
Monday, December 21, 2020

Mayor Heather Colberg opened the meeting by reading correspondence from Councillor Lisa Hansen-Zacharuk who is on medical leave. Colberg also thanked the families and businesses that decorated the trees in downtown Drumheller. Colberg also expressed her appreciation to residents who have been following COVID-19 protocols helping to stop the spread.
The next council meeting will be on January 11, 2021.
Council adopted the minutes of the December 21 Regular Council Meeting.
Council appointed Shelley Rymal to the Economic Development Advisory Committee for a three-year term. She has extensive experience as a director at the Chamber of Commerce, the Drumheller/ Westview Co-op, the Wayne Community Association, the East Coulee School Museum, the Belles of the Badlands, and Travel Drumheller.
Council also reappointed Rymal to a further three-year term on the Municipal Planning Commission. CAO Darryl Drohomerski noted there are vacancies on the Municipal Planning Commission.
Council appointed Denise Lines as the Substitute Returning Officer for the 2021 Municipal Election.
Council approved its 2021 meeting schedule. They have left this schedule intact with two Council and two Committee of the Whole Meetings, with the flexibility of possibly removing meetings when not necessary.
Palliser Regional Municipal Services is looking to apply for a grant to complete a new strategic plan. To do this council made motions of support. One is council authorize the Town of Drumheller to participate in the applications for the “Palliser Regional Service Enhancement Project” submitted by the Village of Acme with Palliser Regional Municipal Services as the primary contractor under the inter-municipal Collaboration component of the Alberta Community Partnership program; and further the Town of Drumheller, as a grant partner, agrees to abide by the terms of a Condition Grant Agreement governing the purpose and use of the grant.
Council passed a motion to approve the sale of Roll 16001208 for the sum of $18,000 with all costs from both parties for this sale being the responsibility of the purchaser. This town-owned parcel is adjacent to the proposed buyer in Rosedale. It has been in the Town’s land inventory for many years, and while not listed for sale, it is available for purchase.
Council passed Three Readings of By-law 22.20 for the creation of a Public Utility Lot within Lot 4, Block 5, Plan 9911673. This would provide for the operation and maintenance of a drainage ditch to accommodate the Water Treatment facility’s regular cleaning operations. This parcel is currently privately owned, and the town and the landowner have come to an amicable agreement. As a result, the property owner needs to subdivide their lot, and the Town will create a Public Utility Lot on their parcel to ensure no development will take place in the future in the vicinity of the drainage ditch.
Director of Protective Services Greg Peters provided a short update on COVID-19. Provincially numbers are starting to go down, the positivity rate is dropped to 6.8. Locally there are 10 active cases.
Council passed third reading of Bylaw 23.20, to establish a Utility Rate Bylaw. For residential property, the fixed rate for water goes from $15.48 to $16.25 and the fixed rate for wastewater goes from $13.61 to $13.88 This bylaw establishes an increase of 5 percent for water and 2 percent for wastewater, per cubic metre.
Council approved the 2021-2024 draft Utility Budget.
Council approved the 2021 fee schedule for town services. Mr. Drohomerski noted there have been no changes to the rate of fees when compared to 2020.
Council held a public hearing to discuss Bylaw19.20, the proposed Fireworks Bylaw
Mr. Peters introduced the bylaw noting its necessity came after Municipal Affairs and stakeholders found support for making fireworks rules consistent with the federal rules in allowing local authorities to manage fireworks use in their communities. He said the town’s foremost concern is safety.
The Drumheller and District Chamber of Commerce submitted a written submission presented by Deanna Hannem, Business Advocacy Committee chair. She noted the $500 vendor fee is unreasonable. The insurance requirement of $2 million as well as naming the town as an additional insured on their commercial policy is unnecessary. From a consumer perspective, the $35 permit to discharge consumer or low-hazard fireworks, is also a deterrent that will impact local firework vendors.
Perry Logan of the Canadian National Fireworks Association (CNFA) also spoke against the bylaw. His written submission stressed education over enforcement for safety. It has worked with other municipalities in drafting bylaws, including Edmonton, Carstairs, Viking, and Bashaw. The CNFA currently offers an education and vendor certification program. The goal is to duplicate the AGLC Pro Serve program and require anyone handling, selling, or displaying consumer fireworks to be certified. He offered to assist Fire Chief Bruce Wade in drafting a bylaw.
Riddell Wiebe presented an oral submission in opposition to the bylaw, noting the bylaw could be cost-prohibitive for consumers, has the potential of overreach, and causing issues for vendors.
Bernie Germain and Jolene Powell also provided written submissions opposing the bylaw.
Councillor Fred Makowecki said he felt the bylaw is a deterrent to setting off fireworks and had many suggestions on changes that would make the bylaw better serve the community.
Councillor Jay Garbutt was disappointed Fire Chief Bruce Wade was not able to present to show a balanced perspective.
Mayor Colberg closed the Public Meeting.

Complete minutes from council meetings can be found at once they have been adopted.

The Drumheller Mail encourages commenting on our stories but due to our harassment policy we must remove any comments that are offensive, or don’t meet the guidelines of our commenting policy.