Area counties send resolutions to Rural Municipalities of Alberta convention | DrumhellerMail
Last updateThu, 25 Nov 2021 8am

Area counties send resolutions to Rural Municipalities of Alberta convention

Wheatland Logo 2021

The 2021 Rural Municipalities of Alberta (RMA) fall convention will be held between Monday, November 22 and Thursday, November 25 and a total of four resolutions are being sent by the surrounding counties of Kneehill, Starland, and Wheatland.
A total of 10 resolutions from various rural municipalities will be presented for consideration and voting during the resolution session of the convention to guide the RMA with prioritization and advocacy with other levels of government.
In October 2021, the Mail reported Kneehill County and Wheatland County had forwarded resolutions to the Central RMA District for endorsement ahead of the fall convention. Kneehill County’s resolution was seconded by Wheatland County to advocate for more knowledge from Health Canada to municipalities regarding cannabis production sites, and Wheatland County forwarded a resolution over concerns about the capacity and service delivery of emergency medical and ambulatory services in rural Alberta.
Wheatland County will also send a second resolution to engage in a review of the Alberta Housing Act to provide clarity on seniors’ foundation requisitioning for capital assets, associated interest costs, and debenture payment obligations for member municipalities.
Starland County has also forwarded a resolution to encourage the provincial government to create an awareness campaign for Small Modular Reactors (SMR) and nuclear technology. This resolution stems from a memorandum of understanding the province signed in August 2020 with Ontario, Saskatchewan, and New Brunswick to support advancing and deploying SMRs. SMRs could help diversify local economies, create new jobs, and reduce greenhouse gas emissions.

The Drumheller Mail encourages commenting on our stories but due to our harassment policy we must remove any comments that are offensive, or don’t meet the guidelines of our commenting policy.