Residents in acclaimed areas still have referendum, senate vote | DrumhellerMail
Last updateThu, 01 Dec 2022 3pm

Residents in acclaimed areas still have referendum, senate vote

Municipal Election 2021 header

Residents will be voting for their local town or county councils, and school board trustees in the municipal election on Monday, October 18.

Although some municipalities have already been acclaimed, residents will still be able to cast their votes on two referendum questions and the Alberta Senate election.

“The tables will be a lot less busy, but the referendum questions and senate voting is still required,” says acting Village of Delia Chief Administrative Officer (CAO) Bill Wulff.

Melody Christofferson, Jordan Elliott, and David Sisley were acclaimed to Delia’s three person council following nomination day. Shandele Battle was acclaimed as the trustee for Prairie Land School Division (PLSD) Ward 4 Subdivision 2 which encompasses the Delia area.

Although residents will not be voting for council or school board trustees, they can still participate in the referendum and senate vote at the Delia Community Centre. The space will also be shared with Starland County Division 1 residents who live in the Delia Area, according to Wulff.

PLSD Ward 4 Subdivision 1 Morrin/Munson seat was vacant as of closing on nomination day, Monday, September 20.

Returning Officer Jennifer Laux told the Mail, “We had to adjourn every day from the close of nomination day until Friday, September 24 when we finally received the nomination papers before noon from the new candidate in (Morrin/Munson), acclaimed, Ken Macfarlane.”

Another municipality which will see no municipal or school board vote is the Village of Hussar. Tim Frank, Les Schultz, and Coralee Schindel were acclaimed to the three-person village council; Laurie Huntley was also acclaimed as the trustee for Golden Hills School Division (GHSD) Ward 5, which includes schools in Hussar, Rockyford, Standard, Carseland, Gleichen, and Cluny areas.

In Kneehill County, there will be no council vote for Division 1, Division 3, and Division 6; these seats were acclaimed by Faye McGhee, Jerry Wittstock, and Wade Christie respectively.

Those wishing to participate in the referendum and senate vote in these acclaimed areas can vote at the Carbon Community Centre for Division 1 residents, the Acme Community Centre in Division 3, and Division 6 residents can vote at the Wimborne Community Centre.

Residents in GHSD Ward 2 (Acme, Carbon, and Linden) will have a school board trustee vote between incumbent trustee James Northcott and new candidate Zbigniew (Ziggy) Kozlowski.

The Drumheller Mail encourages commenting on our stories but due to our harassment policy we must remove any comments that are offensive, or don’t meet the guidelines of our commenting policy.