News | DrumhellerMail - Page #9
Last updateSat, 17 Mar 2018 3pm

Kneehill Soil Services steps up for Dalum Fire Department

IMG 2311

    The Dalum Fire Department received a hand up from a local business to help the department recover from being a victim of crime.
    The Mail reported in its December 27 edition that thieves struck the Dalum Fire Hall twice within a week. They stole audiovisual equipment from the meeting room side as well as hand tools from the department’s apparatus.
    Kneehill Soil Services took the opportunity to show support for the firefighters and donated $1,000 to the Dalum Fire Department to help them replace some of the needed equipment.
    Manager of  Kneehill Soil Services, Cal McGuckin, has been a volunteer firefighter and understands how departments struggle for funding and felt they could lend a hand.
    The funds allowed the Department to purchase a new Hooligan bar. This is a versatile rescue tool.
    The department has upgraded its security since the break-ins.

Rockyford Ringette girls capture bronze

IMG 1875

    Fort McMurray played host to 8 different zones which make up the province of Alberta for the 2018 Alberta Winter Games.
    Hailey Kenney and Madison Wheeler of Rockyford area attended the games under Zone 2 which consists of Cochrane, Strathmore, and Rockyford to name a few.
    The girls won bronze for their hard work on the ice. The score was 8 – 3 against Zone 3.
    “You are winning but obviously in the end it would have been better to win silver or gold but it was super exciting knowing that out of all those teams we were in the top three and coming home with a medal,” said Kenney.
    They played three round robin games where they lost the first game by one point but caught up and won the next two. The team became second in the pool so they then crossed over and played the first place team, Edmonton, in the other pool.  Zone 2 lost 5 – 4 that game in overtime. The outcome of the game moved the Edmonton team into the gold medal game and the Zone 2 team into the bronze medal game.
    “It was really close because the team that won gold, we lost to in overtime and the team that won silver we lost to by one,” said Kenney.
    The weekend was filled with different things to witness and experience. Kenney had multiple favourites.
    “Definitely the games because they were so close and exciting but also all the time you spend with your teammates,” said Kenney.
    Alexandre Bilodeau, an Olympic Canadian Freestyle Skier emceed to kick off the opening ceremonies.
    All athletes were on a strict schedule throughout the weekend. Buses would shuffle teams and individuals to the appropriate location throughout the day.
    “We all stayed in Athlete Villages which are schools and all the Ringette teams are in one school and even the one day, we played at 12:30 p.m. but they have everyone up at the same time.”

Sorenson calls for federal leadership in pipeline dispute

sorenson action

    MP for Battle River-Crowfoot, Kevin Sorenson, says leadership is lacking at the federal level when it comes to the recent trade dispute between Alberta and British Columbia.
    Last week Alberta Premier Rachel Notley lifted her ban on the sale of B.C. wine, which was put in place in response to actions by the BC government opposing pipeline development Sorenson says what is lacking is a strong federal presence.
    “Our Prime Minister has had a hands-off approach and I think it has led to provincial conflict,” Sorenson tells The Mail. “He promised us that he would meet more with premiers, and have more round tables with premiers and televise this, and national unity would only grow. In the last two years, we have seen more problems.”
    He recognizes that in the last few days there has been progress.
    “There has been some amends, Notley said we would back off from the wine ban, and they are going to consider the bitumen thing, but again, it’s a stall,” he said.
     He says that Premier Notley is confident that Alberta will win in front of the courts, as does he, however, it is the time involved that irks him.
    “Courts take a long time,” he said.
    He adds there is a process that is in place to make sure these projects are dealt with fairly.
    “We go through and have an independent scientific evidence-based decision-making process on whether a pipeline should go forward. Is it safe environmentally? Is it needed economically? Is it going to create jobs?” he said. “This has gone through all of that process and the National Energy Board has given it the check of approval, we gave it the check of approval and our current Prime Minister has is given it the check of approval, now it is just being stalled.”
    He adds that this is a national issue, beyond just a squabble between provinces.
    “I think we will see that the Prime Minister’s lack of stepping forward really threatens jobs, it threatens investment and that capital is just leaving Alberta,” he said.
    “In the long term, if there is no security around a simple decision, that capital doesn’t come in, that investment isn’t made and those jobs aren’t created. That is why we are saying to the Prime Minister ‘ enough already,’ you allowed the east-west one to stall, you allowed the Northern Gateway Project to stall only promising us that this one would go ahead, and now you are slow stepping up.”
    He adds that Alberta’s industry supports the whole country.
    “If Canadians understood the importance that all of these jobs have. It means people in my constituency will be working; it means they will be paying income tax provincially and federally. That is what funds our social programs, that is what funds our healthcare, that is what funds our old age security and education system,” he said.

How will you celebrate St. Patrick's Day?

Ask The Experts